Deutsche Versionbahasa indonesia

STT

The Theological College (Sekolah Tinggi Teologia - STT) of the Batak church (HKBP) was founded in 1972, when the former faculty of divinity was cut out of the 1954 founded "Nommensen University", which is also driven by the HKBP.

Today at the STT study some 400 students, male and female, who mostly are members of HKBP and are preparing for a job as a "pendeta" (parish priest).



HKBP

The protestant Batak church (Huria Kristen Batak Protesten - HKBP) is the biggest protestant church in south east Asia with about 3 million members. Most of them live in the old Batak region around lake Toba in the indonesian province of North Sumatra, but today because of the indonesian "transmigrasi“ they can be found all over the country. 

HKBP was founded in the 19th century by german missionary Ludwig Ingwer Nommensen (1834-1918), who lived in northern Sumatra from 1864 to 1918 representing the former Rhenanian missionary company from Wuppertal. Nommensen translated Martin Luther's Small Catechism and the New Testament into the Batak language and wrote a few Church orders for "his" church. When he arrived the Batak tribes were almost completely animistic. When he died, the HKBP had 500 parishes with more than 180.000 members. That's why he is called "the apostle of the Batak" and why he is maybe the most successful single missionary ever.

 HomepageWe in Indonesia – About usSTT-HKBPVEM/UEMGuestbookImpressum

english versionbahasa indonesia

STT

Die Theologische Hochschule (Sekolah Tinggi Teologia) der Batakkirche (HKBP) entstand 1972, indem sich die vormalige Theologische Fakultät aus der 1954 gegründeten Nommensen-Universität, die ebenfalls eine Einrichtung der HKBP ist, herauslöste und eine selbstständige Einrichtung wurde.

Heute studieren an der Hochschule ca. 400 Stundentinnen und Studenten, die in der überwiegenden Mehrzahl der HKBP angehören und sich auf den Pfarrberuf vorbereiten.



HKBP

Die protestantische Batakkirche (Huria Kristen Batak Protesten – HKBP) ist die größte evangelische Einzelkirche in Südostasien., Sie zählt ca. 2 – 3 Millionen Mitglieder, die im Wesentlichen im alten Kernland der Batakvölker, in der indonesischen Provinz Nord-Sumatra rund um den Toba-See wohnen. Im Zuge der indonesischen „Transmigrasi“ sind allerdings mittlerweile auch viele Gemeindeglieder der HKBP in anderen Teilen Indonesiens anzutreffen.

Die HKBP enstand im 19. Jahrhundert aus der jahrzehntelangen Missionsarbeit des deutschen Missionars Ludwig Ingwer Nommensen (1834-1918), der von 1864 bis 1918 im Auftrag der damaligen Rheinischen Missionsgesellschaft Wuppertal in Nord-Sumatra wirkte. Nommensen übersetzte Luthers Kleinen Katechismus und das Neue Testament in die Batak-Dialekte und verfasste mehrere Kirchen- und Gemeindeordnungen für „seine“ Kirche. Waren bei seiner Ankunft die Batak fast noch vollständig Anhänger der animistischen Stammesreligion, bestand die Batakkirche in Nommensens Todesjahr aus über 500 Gemeinden mit mehr als 180.000 Gemeindegliedern.

 StartseiteWir in IndonesienÜber unsSTT-HKBPVEM/UEMGästebuchImpressum